Skip To Main Content
Content

Faculty

WGS currently has three faculty members who have a percentage of time dedicated to our WGS courses and administration. Additionally, we have dozens of faculty across campus with an interest in or a commitment to feminist scholarship and/or gender studies. Those affiliated faculty help run our executive committee, occasionally teach our core courses, and also develop courses that are cross-listed between WGS and a cooperating department.   For an introduction to some of our affiliated and core faculty, check out this Powerpoint.

The three part-time WGS faculty can be reached at the following emails and phone numbers:

Karey Harwood  (on leave, Fall 2013 - Spring 2014)
Department of Philosophy and Religion
karey_harwood@ncsu.edu
919-515-6383

Deborah A. Hooker

Director, Women's and Gender Studies

Department of English
dahooker@ncsu.edu
919-515-4169
Tompkins Hall 248

Mary Wyer
Department of Psychology
mary_wyer@ncsu.edu
919-515-7997

WGS Affiliated Faculty

Sociology and Anthropology

DeAnn Judge
ddjudge@ncsu.edu
Lecturer/Advisor

Margaret Stiffler
stiffler@ncsu.edu
Senior Lecturer/Advisor

Ellen Whiteman
egwhitem@ncsu.edu
Lecturer

Sinikka Elliott
sgelliot@ncsu.edu
Associate Professor

Heather Shay
hlbostwi@ncsu.edu 
Lecturer

Rachel Powell
repowel2@ncsu.edu
Lecturer

Serena Sebring
sesebrin@ncsu.edu
Lecturer

Mairead Moloney
memolone@ncsu.edu
Postdoctoral Teaching Scholar

Interdisciplinary Studies

Carol Lewald
calewald@ncsu.edu
Lecturer

Deena Murphy
dmmurphy@ncsu.edu
Teaching Assistant Professor

Emily Martin-Hondros
ecmartin@ncsu.edu
Lecturer

Psychology

Mary Wyer
mbwyer@ncsu.edu
Associate Professor

Amy Halberstadt
halbers@ncsu.edu
Professor

Philosophy & Religion

Mary Cunningham
relmkc@ncsu.edu
Associate Professor

Christine Pierce
cpierce@ncsu.edu
Professor Emerita

Karey Harwood
karey_harwood@ncsu.edu
Associate Professor

Electrical & Computer Engineering

Hatice Ozturk
hoo@ncsu.edu
Teaching Associate Professor

English

Laura Severin
lrs@ncsu.edu
Professor

Barbara Bennett
babennet@ncsu.edu
Associate Professor

Leila May
leila@ncsu.edu
Associate Professor

Denise Heinze
dheinze@ncsu.edu
Teaching Assistant Professor

Juliana N’fah-Abbenyi
jmphd@ncsu.edu
Professor

Sharon Setzer
ssetzer@ncsu.edu
Professor

Catherine Warren
cwarren@ncsu.edu
Associate Professor

Deborah Hooker
dahooker@ncsu.edu
Teaching Associate Professor

Communication

Elizabeth Craig
eacraig@ncsu.edu
Associate Professor

Elizabeth Nelson
eanelso4@ncsu.edu
Comm 110 Director

Chelsea Hampton
champto2@ncsu.edu
Graduate Teaching Assistant, CRDM

Social Work

Marcie Fisher-Borne
mmfishe2@ncsu.edu
Assistant Professor

NC State Women’s Center

Ashley Simons-Rudolph
apsimons@ncsu.edu
Director, NC State Women’s Center